Jeff Zaslow College Columnist Award – Enter by March 1

The NSNCEF will award scholarships to three outstanding student newspaper columnists who write for U.S. college or university undergraduate newspapers. First prize is $1,000. Second prize is $500. Third prize is $250.

In addition, the top winner will be the guest of the National Society of Newspaper Columnists at its 2012 conference in Macon, Ga., May 3-6.

Deadline for entering the 2012 contest is March 1, 2012. The contest is open to undergraduates (including seniors) who write bylined general interest, editorial page or Op-Ed page columns. Sports columns, movie reviews and other specialized columns are not eligible.

Judges for the contest are professional newspaper columnists.

There is no entry fee to enter. One entry, consisting of three columns, for each student newspaper columnist is permitted. Magazine columnists are not eligible.

Entry forms are available for download . For more information, contact NSNC Education Chairman Russell Frank by e-mail at or by phone at 814-863-6415.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.